burnt out?

I’m burnt out. I know that, but I don’t fully want to accept that.

Education is an ever changing profession, sometimes for the good, sometimes for the bad. I like to think I’ve been pretty flexible so far in my education career.

I spent my student teaching helping my cooperating teacher navigate a never before seen worldwide shutdown.

I spent my first year teaching in a classroom, as well as online. I piloted ways to teach live from home while my students were in the building. I won the award for most quarantines.

I spent my second year of teaching transitioning to a brand new building, helping to create the climate, culture, and functionality of a new school. I had to learn how another teacher functioned in order to come together and make a cohesive house for our students.

I spent my third year of teaching growing, tweaking, and changing schedules, tasks, and procedures in our new building and with my partner teacher.

I have so far spent my fourth year of teaching switching mindsets and gears towards the littles. Learning how to effectively teach 1st graders instead of my well known fifth graders.

I’d like to think I’ve been flexible in my career so far.

Covid greatly impacted the beginning of my career in a way I could have never predicted. However, I don’t want to blame Covid, because I don’t think that’s what has caused this burnout. Has it contributed? I’m sure. It was a stressful time for veteran teachers, let alone the teachers who were fresh out the gate. I don’t think I can pinpoint one exact thing to express or give reason to my burnout. There’s a lot of factors. My old partner teacher states her burnout as, “I’m tired of fighting the good fight.”

I think that’s the best way to put it. The way to encompass all that has contributed. Are there things in my district I find frustrating? Of course. Were there different things I found frustrating in my last district? Of course. That’s the nature of employment, there will always be something frustrating at your work. However, my work is dictated not just by my principal, my superintendent, or my school board, but by my government.

There are so many things that are out of my control and when you’re fighting for what’s best for your students day in and day out and still don’t feel as if you have any control, it’s exhausting.


Here’s the hardest part, I want so badly to not be burnt out. I want to keep fighting the “good fight,” but at what point do I draw the line?

I know I’m a good teacher.

I know I have passion for it.

I know how rewarding it is.

I know that some days are going to be tough with kids.

I know that some days can bring you an unmatched joy.

I know that I love it.


I also know that I’m exhausted.

I also know that I’m struggling to find the energy to do the things I love in my free time.

I also know I’m not the best version of myself these days. Which isn’t fair to my fiancé, my friends, my family, even my students.

It’s this never ending battle in my brain.

I feel weak for even thinking of calling it quits. Even weaker yet if I do call it quits. Like I didn’t have enough fight in me. Like I let education win.

How can something I love also be the same thing that’s making me feel like a shell of a person?

I have a day where I know I will stay in education.

Then I have a day where I know I absolutely cannot stay.

I’m not sure which to listen to.

I’m not sure which is the right choice.

So for now . . .

I sit.

I sit in this feeling.

I sit with the roller coaster of emotions.

I sit with the goods and the bads.

I simply sit.

To process.

To reflect.

To feel.

My hope is that maybe just sitting will lead me to the right choice.

Trust Yourself

6 responses to “burnt out?”

  1. Hi Avery,

    I applaud your for being honest. It’s the best thing you can do for yourself. Teaching was already hard, but I applaud you for getting through your first year during pandemic teaching. I’m a veteran teacher and it was harder than my first year of teaching (I’m now 25 in teacher years).

    I still have a lot of the same thoughts you do. It’s okay to evaluate your situation. The best decision is the one that’s best for you, because as you stated, you need to offer your best to yourself and your loved ones.

    Unfortunately, there are too many problems in education that push away many good teachers. I hope your answer finds you soon and that you are confident in your choice. You are not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind words! It’s validating to hear others are having or have had the same thoughts and feelings. 💜

      Like

  2. I imagine that every teacher resonates with this post–I’ve definitely been where you are–a number of times throughout my career! You’ve done such a powerful job of describing your dilemma–and it’s also clear that you have so many strengths as a teacher. One thing to remember is that even though you’re in year 4 of teaching, it sounds like you’re in year 1 of a new position. I’ve found that, even with 20+ years of experience, the first year in a new position always feels in many ways like being a first-year teacher again. It also sounds like you haven’t found your posse of colleagues (or at least work-bestie) to lean on the way one is able to do (if we’re lucky) when we’ve been teaching with the same people for a number of years. I imagine that if you choose to stay and you’re able to stay in the same position for several years, it will get better. Do remember that even if you decide to leave teaching next year, it doesn’t have to be for forever. And there are lots of ways to impact kids and the education world without being in a classroom all day. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind words! That was really well written and gave me more perspective/big picture! Teachers really are the most supportive community of people 💛

      Like

      1. I think more than anything, to be successful, early career teachers need mentors who help them feel better about the big picture. When I started teaching, I had the world’s best mentor, who never let me leave school not feeling optimistic that tomorrow would be better. I want so badly for all teachers to have the same kind of support that I received. When I have a bad day (like today, in which I considered crying midway through the afternoon), I try to remind myself that as long as I “break even” by having as many good days as bad days, I’m probably doing okay. Honestly–reach out if you don’t have someone to share stories about teaching being hard but getting better. natashadomina@hotmail.com

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is so true! A good mentor makes the world of difference, I had some FANTASTIC ones at my last district! Breaking even is a good goal to have, sorry to hear you had a tough day today though 😢

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started